Expo 2020 Dubai provides a platform for Canada to:

Diversify its international markets

Attract international investment

Promote Canadian innovation, tourism and international education

Promote Canadian values, rule of law and gender equality on the world stage

The Canada Pavilion

A symbol of collaboration toward a better future

Embark on an immersive journey through Canada’s past, present and future!

The Canada Pavilion, inspired by Canadian landscapes and Arabic architectural elements, is a symbolic representation of the strong cultural and economic ties between Canada and the UAE.

Discover the values that drive the Canadian spirit of innovation and collaboration.

The Canada Pavilion

UAE & Expo 2020 Dubai

Expo 2020 Dubai will be a platform to foster creativity, innovation, and collaboration globally.  The core theme of Expo 2020 Dubai is ‘Connecting Minds, Creating the Future’, with subthemes that guide the journey: Opportunity, Mobility and Sustainability.

Succeed
With Canada

The Government of Canada is in the planning stages of its participation and milestones and activities will be highlighted in the lead-up to this world fair.

Major contracts for the supply and service of Canada’s presence at Expo 2020 will be tendered publically. This may include communications, hosting, and products and services necessary to operate the pavilion.

Business Opportunities

Note: Watch this space for further procurement opportunities.

Do business
With UAE

Gain valuable insights into the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS). We are Canada’s export experts with the largest network of international trade professionals. TCS services are free for qualifying companies. When you are ready, a trade commissioner can help you assess your potential and connect you with qualified contacts.

  • 60 + Trade Commissioners serving the Middle East and North Africa region
  • 1,323 TCS clients served in the Middle East and North Africa region in 2017-18
  • 160 + Offices in Canada & abroad

Contact the TCS today.

Participate
at Expo 2020

The objective of Expo 2020 Dubai is to advance new thinking that will have an effective and lasting impact in the Middle East, Africa and South Asia (MEASA) and the wider world.

There are several exciting ways to get involved in Expo 2020 Dubai. Check out the participant page to learn about funding programs, volunteer opportunities, the Expo School Programme, or global conversation sessions, to name a few examples.

Explore the ways you can participate.

Canada’s Successes at International Expositions

Expo 2020 Dubai is an international exposition sanctioned by the Paris-based Bureau of International Exhibitions. Participating at this Expo will position Canada as:

A leader in innovation and sustainability: through its people, its research and design, its incubators, its superclusters and its global partnerships

A destination of choice for study, tourism, business, investment and immigration

A global leader, innovator and ally with solutions to offer the world in many spheres: free trade, human rights, gender equality, international security, migration, diversity, sustainable development, and food and water security

Canada’s Expo History

International Expositions have taken place since the first one held in 1851 in Hyde Park, London. Canada has successfully hosted two Expos, Expo ’67 in Montreal and Expo ’86 in Vancouver, and has participated in several world fairs, including mostly recently Expo ’05 in Aichi, Japan and Expo ’10 in Shanghai, China.

1851

The Great Exhibition in London

May 1 – October 11, 1851

One of the core objectives for Britain was to tell the story of the achievements after the Industrial Revolution. The Great Exhibition was enormously influential on the development of many aspects of society including art and design, education, international trade and relations, and even tourism. Canada’s participation at the first two great international exhibitions of the nineteenth century, the Great Exhibition at London’s Crystal Palace in 1851 and the Paris Exposition Universelle in 1855, brought together issues and concerns that spanned the full range of the colony’s developing innovation.

1967

Expo ‘67 Montréal, Québec

April 27 – October 29, 1967

Canada captured the hearts and minds of the world with the theme “Man and His World” and was celebrated as hosts of one of the most successful world fair of the 20th century with 62 participating countries. The fair coincided with Canada’s centennial year and produced numerous lasting legacies, including: The Port of Montréal (one of the largest deep sea ports in North America), a vibrant waterfront filled with shops, world-class restaurants and downtown living accommodations, as well as top-tier film and animation studios – a recognized top tier animation hub.

1986

Expo ‘86 Vancouver, British Columbia

May 2 – October 13, 1986

Canada once again captured the world’s attention by hosting the 1986 Specialised Expo in Vancouver under the theme “World in Motion – World in Touch”. A total of 54 countries participated and Vancouver welcomed more than 22 million visitors, almost double the predicted 13 million. Expo ‘86 left Vancouver with many lasting legacies, including a deep sea port, a SkyTrain, Science World, BC Place Stadium, Canada Place and a world class trade and convention centre. In 2019, it still stands as the last world fair to be held in North America. The success, beauty and accessibility of Vancouver not only provided pride and confidence to the region, but it also helped pave the way for Canada to host the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games.

L’Expo 2020 de Dubaï offre au Canada une plateforme pour :

Diversifier ses marchés internationaux

Attirer l’investissement international

Promouvoir l’innovation, le tourisme et l’éducation internationale au Canada

Promouvoir les valeurs canadiennes, la primauté du droit et l’égalité entre les sexes sur la scène internationale

Le Pavillon du Canada

Un symbole de collaboration pour un avenir meilleur

Entreprenez un voyage immersif à travers le passé, le présent et l’avenir du Canada!

Le Pavillon du Canada, inspiré des paysages canadiens et d’éléments architecturaux arabes, est une représentation symbolique des liens culturels et économiques solides qui existent entre le Canada et les Émirats arabes unis.

Découvrez les valeurs qui animent l’esprit canadien d’innovation et de collaboration.

Le Pavillon du Canada

Les Émirats arabes unis et l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï

L’Expo 2020 de Dubaï sera une plateforme pour encourager la créativité, l’innovation et la collaboration à l’échelle mondiale. Le thème général de l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï est Connecter les esprits, construire l’avenir et les sous-thèmes qui guident le parcours sont Occasions, Mobilité, Durabilité.

Réussir
avec le Canada à l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï

Le gouvernement du Canada est au stade de la planification de sa participation; des jalons et des activités seront mis en évidence dans le cadre des préparatifs de cette exposition universelle. D’importants contrats pour l’approvisionnement et les services liés à la présence du Canada à l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï feront l’objet d’appels d’offres publics. Cela peut comprendre les communications, l’accueil, la boutique de cadeaux et d’autres produits et services nécessaires au fonctionnement du pavillon.

Occasions d’affaires

Surveillez cet espace pour d’autres occasions d’approvisionnements.

Faire des affaires
aux Émirats arabes unis

Obtenez de précieux conseils du Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada (SDC) sur les Émirats arabes unis. Nous sommes les experts du Canada en matière d’exportation grâce à notre réseau inégalé de professionnels du commerce international. Les entreprises qualifiées peuvent obtenir les services du SDC gratuitement. Lorsque vous êtes prêt, un délégué commercial peut vous aider à évaluer votre potentiel et vous mettre en contact avec des professionnels qualifiés.

  • Plus de 60 délégués commerciaux servent la région du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord
  • 1 323 clients du SDC servis dans la région du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord en 2017-2018
  • Plus de 160 bureaux au Canada et à l’étranger

Communiquez avec le SDC dès aujourd’hui !

Participer
à l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï

L’objectif de l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï est de faire avancer de nouvelles idées qui auront une incidence efficace et durable au Moyen-Orient, en Afrique et en Asie du Sud et ailleurs dans le monde. Il existe plusieurs manières de participer à l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï. Consultez la page des participants pour en apprendre davantage sur les programmes de financement, les possibilités de bénévolat, le programme scolaire ou les séances de discussion mondiales, pour ne nommer que ceux-ci.

Examinez les manières de participer.

Le succès du Canada aux expositions internationales

L’Expo 2020 de Dubaï est une exposition universelle reconnue par le Bureau international des expositions, dont le siège est à Paris. Par sa participation à l’Exposition, le Canada se positionnera comme suit :

Un chef de file en matière d’innovation et de durabilité : par ses gens, sa recherche et développement, ses incubateurs, ses supergrappes et ses partenariats mondiaux

Une destination de choix pour les études, le tourisme, les affaires, l’investissement et l’immigration

Un leader mondial, un innovateur et un allié avec des solutions à offrir au monde entier dans de nombreux domaines : le libre-échange, les droits de la personne, l’égalité des sexes, la sécurité internationale, l’immigration, la diversité, le développement durable, et la sécurité alimentaire et en matière d’eau

L’historique de la participation du Canada à l’Expo

Les expositions universelles et internationales existent depuis 1851 lorsque la première exposition universelle a eu lieu à Hyde Park, à Londres. Le Canada a accueilli avec succès deux expositions, l’Expo 67 à Montréal et l’Expo 86 à Vancouver, et a participé à plusieurs expositions universelles, dont les plus récentes à Aichi, au Japon, en 2005 et à Shanghai, en Chine, en 2010.

1851

La Grande Exposition de Londres (The Great Exhibition in London)

du 1er mai au 11 octobre 1851

L’un des principaux objectifs de la Grande-Bretagne était de raconter l’histoire des réalisations qui ont suivi la révolution industrielle. La Grande Exposition a eu une influence considérable sur le développement de nombreux aspects de la société, notamment l’enseignement de l’art et du design, le commerce et les relations internationales, et même le tourisme. La participation du Canada aux deux premières grandes expositions universelles du 19e siècle, la Grande Exposition au Crystal Palace de Londres en 1851 et l’Exposition universelle de Paris en 1855, a permis de présenter des enjeux et des préoccupations qui touchaient toute la gamme des innovations et du développement de la colonie.

1967

Expo 67 à Montréal, au Québec

du 27 avril au 29 octobre 1967

Le Canada a conquis les cœurs et les esprits du monde entier avec le thème Terre des hommes et a été célébrée comme l’hôte de l’une des expositions universelles les plus réussies du 20e siècle, grâce à la participation de 62 pays. L’exposition a coïncidé avec l’année du centenaire du Canada et a produit de nombreux legs durables, notamment l’aménagement du Port de Montréal (l’un des plus grands ports en eau profonde d’Amérique du Nord), un secteur riverain animé qui regorge de boutiques, de restaurants de classe mondiale et de logements au centre-ville, ainsi que des studios de cinéma, d’IA et de médias numériques. Montréal est un centre d’animation reconnu de premier rang.

1986

Expo 86 à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique

du 2 mai au 13 octobre 1986

Le Canada a encore une fois attiré l’attention du monde entier en accueillant l’Expo Spécialisé 1986 à Vancouver sous le thème Un monde en mouvement – Un monde en contact. Au total, 54 pays y ont participé et Vancouver a accueilli plus de 22 millions de visiteurs, soit près du double des 13 millions prévus. L’Expo 86 a laissé à Vancouver de nombreux legs durables, dont un port en eau profonde, le SkyTrain, Science World, le stade BC Place, Canada Place et un centre commercial et de congrès de classe mondiale. En date de 2019, il s’agit toujours de la dernière exposition universelle à avoir eu lieu en Amérique du Nord. Le succès, la beauté et l’accessibilité de Vancouver ont non seulement procuré fierté et confiance à la région, mais ils ont aussi aidé le Canada à se préparer à accueillir les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2010 à Vancouver.